About Charles University

Founded in 1348 by the Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV, Charles University has a long-standing tradition. Originally, it had four faculties: the Faculty of Arts, Theology, Law and Medicine. Today, it has 17 faculties (14 in Prague, two in Hradec Králové and one in Plzeň), 4 university institutes, 5 other departments for education, science, research, development, creative activities and information services and 4 university-wide special facilities. The university is one of the most productive scientific institutions in the Czech Republic. It places great emphasis on international cooperation with prestigious educational and scientific institutions. It is one of the largest and oldest European universities using contemporary perspectives, modern methods and current data.

Learn more!